Young Philanthropists

Funding the Future - Together

Launched in 2006, Young Philanthropists invigorates community leaders to join together to be philanthropists and learn more about themselves as donors.

By pooling and leveraging our resources, we are creating greater community impact by growing the Future Fund – a permanent endowment fund at the Community Foundation that has awarded $149,000 to local programs that help children and youth. Grant awards are determined through a competitive process with members serving on the grant committee.

We host at least two events each year at no cost to members. The events are opportunities to meet other members, learn about local charitable causes and just have fun!

Join Young Philanthropists

Membership is easy.

Simply complete the Reply Form and make an annual tax-deductible contribution of $125/person – 100% of which is directed to the Future Fund. You may also make your membership contribution online (please specify "Future Fund").

Annual membership contributions are due on or before December 31 of each calendar year. Anyone over the age of 21 and ‘young at heart’ is welcome to join, and new members are welcome at any time.

Download the Young Philanthropists brochure here.

For more information, email or call 217-789-4431.

Future Fund

The Future Fund is an endowment fund at the Community Foundation that was established in 2006 by the Young Philanthropists giving circle in order to create a permanent grantmaking resource for Sangamon County.

The purpose of the Future Fund is to provide financial support to organizations that address childhood development and education.

community leaf Grant Awards

Young Philanthropists has awarded $149,000 to local organizations for programs that are improving the lives of local children.

Read more about our impact HERE.

community leaf Leadership

2023 Steering Committee Members:

Tom Bazan, chair
Erin Crumly
Pam Hulten
Megan Nelson
Andrew Novaria
Jay Roszhart
Katy Winnett

community leaf EVENT PHOTOS

Each year, YP hosts events at different venues across the community to celebrate and build community philanthropy for local charities. Take a look back at past events HERE.

2022 Grant Presentation


YP members presented St. Patrick Catholic School with the Future Fund's 17th annual grant award at a celebration held on December 8, 2022 at Brown, Hay & Stephens. The $12,500 grant will establish a new Student Culture Coordinator position that will serve as a behavior interventionist, social-emotional educator and parent educator to enable the school to expand in scope and function of the Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports framework.



Thank you to our Presenting Sponsors INB and Sikich!