Scholarship Program Overview

The Community Foundation for the Land of Lincoln (CFLL) administers a variety of college scholarships. Each scholarship was established by generous donors and is unique, with its own set of criteria for applicants. Students may apply for and be awarded multiple scholarships. There are scholarships available for graduating seniors as well as current and returning college students. Currently, the majority of awards are offered to students from Sangamon County but the number of scholarships for students throughout the CFLL service area continues to grow. CFLL serves the counties of Sangamon, Cass, Christian, Logan, Macoupin, Menard, Montgomery and Morgan.

To review specific information and instructions on how to apply for scholarships for the 2021-22 academic year, please revisit our website toward the end of the calendar year. 2021 scholarship applications will be available from January 1, 2021 to March 1, 2021. Applicants should submit their scholarship applications via the CFLL website during this time period.

If you have questions regarding the scholarship opportunities offered by the Community Foundation, please email

2021 Available Scholarships

Scholarship Description
Ada McCombs White Memorial Scholarship Current or former graduates of A-C Central High School in Ashland, IL, pursuing a teaching career in special education.
Association for Women in Communications, Springfield Chapter, Communications Scholarship Juniors, seniors and graduate students majoring in communications, journalism, public relations or related fields such as marketing, design, videography, photography, etc., that are from Central Illinois or attend a College or University in Central Illinois
Camp Care-A-Lot Scholarship Former Camp Care-A-Lot campers who demonstrate a financial need.
CFLL Service Scholarship Be an extraordinary example of service to others and to the community. Must be nominated by a high school principal in Sangamon County.
Charlie Cottle Scholarship Chatham Glenwood High School varsity athlete
COUNTRY Financial Community Scholarship Graduates of high schools throughout Sangamon, Macoupin, Montgomery, Cass, Morgan and Greene counties who have demonstrated exemplary community service.
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Scholarship African American students who are graduating seniors of a high school in the Springfield-Decatur, IL service area of the Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, maintained a minimum 2.5 GPA, and demonstrate Delta's core values of sisterhood, scholarship and service.
Don W. Casper Memorial Scholarship Graduating seniors of Springfield High who excel academically and play varsity sports
Don W. Estaque Jr. Scholarship Graduates of Lanphier High School in Springfield, IL, who have attended LHS for four years, maintained a minimum 3.0 GPA, and lettered 3 out of their 4 years as a male member of the LHS men's cross country or track teams. Endorsement of the principal and athletic director required.
Donald Lee and Donna Wolaver Memorial Golf Scholarship Golf team member at high school in Sangamon County.
Frontiers International Springfield Club Scholarship Preference is given to African-American students (either male or female) and to applicants with substantial financial need.
Gerald F. and Luanna R. Kennedy Scholarship Graduating senior from Pana High School with a demonstrated history of contribution to the community.
Girls on the Run Founder Scholarship Graduating female senior who participated in the GOTR of Central Illinois program.
Henry Bunn Memorial Scholarship A graduating high school student or college student that is a current resident of Sangamon County that demonstrates financial need and superior academic work.
Illinois Women in Leadership — High School Scholarship Female exhibiting leadership qualities and strong potential and desire for professional growth.
Illinois Women in Leadership — Chrysalis Award Female who has earned a high school diploma or GED at least 5 years ago exhibiting leadership qualities and strong potential and desire for professional growth.
Jamie K. Patino Math and Science Scholarship Springfield Southeast High School student seeking a degree in the field of engineering, math or science.
Jean Lee Hiller Memorial Scholarship Current or former, female graduate of Taylorville High School, pursuing a four-year degree in pre-med or business.
Joseph and Lois Morris Memorial Scholarship Must be nominated by Springfield High Guidance Counselor; contact your guidance counselor for more information. Unsolicited applications will not be accepted.
Jim Byron Scholarship Williamsville High School student involved in service and school activities.
Linda S. Culver Memorial Scholarship Be a graduating senior, returning undergraduate or graduate student attending an accredited college and is currently registered as a Girl Scout with the Girl Scouts of Central Illinois.
Lori L. Kashmer Scholarship Pursuing a degree in nursing, health or medical career or in veterinary medicine as a part-time or full-time student that exhibits a passion for learning and demonstrates financial need.
Margaret Johnson Special Education Scholarship Graduating from a high school in Sangamon County and pursuing a degree in special education, with the intent of teaching special education students.
Mary Lou and Dwight Pitman Scholarship Area public high school student in Sangamon County other than Springfield School District or Chatham School District with siblings planning to or attending college.
O'Brien Scholarship for the Study of Nursing Graduating senior from a high school in Sangamon County that demonstrates financial need and is pursuing a degree or certificate in a medical or health related field of study.
Paul V. Gage Community Service Scholarship Vienna High School student demonstrating a record of service.
Pearl Fairfield Scholarship Graduating senior from a high school in Sangamon County that demonstrates financial need.  Preference will be given to students from a single-parent household.
Reverend Kenneth H. White and Evelyn N. White Scholarship Lanphier High School student planning to obtain a State Teaching Certificate to teach in the public school system.
Roland Machinery Scholarship Open to students pursuing a degree or certificate in a profession related to construction, mechanical engineering, or other related trades. Must be a graduating senior from a high school in one of the following counties: Sangamon, Christian, Montgomery, Macoupin, Scott, Morgan, Cass, Menard, Mason and Logan
SAHBA Construction/Robert E. von Behren Memorial Scholarship Open to students pursuing a career in the building industry in the following counties: Sangamon, Christian, Logan, Macoupin, Mason, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan, and Scott.
Sgt. John R. Dalhaus Memorial Scholarship Graduating student from Litchfield High School pursuing a degree in a vocational field.
Spanish American Cultural Center Scholarship Latin American descent and be a graduating senior (or GED certificate) from one of the following Illinois counties: Sangamon, Cass, Douglas, Champaign, Macon, McLean or Morgan
Susan G. Conner Special Education Scholarship Graduating senior from a high school in Sangamon County, pursuing a degree in special education.
Walter and Pauline Roesch Boys and Girls Clubs of Central Illinois Scholarship Open to current or former members of the Boys and Girls Club of Central Illinois (BGCCIL) attending college or vocational school as a full-time student.
World War II Illinois Descendants Statewide Scholarship Must be a direct descendant of a WWII Illinois Veteran and have a 4.0 GPA on a non-weighted scale (or be the projected valedictorian or salutatorian).